You don’t have to tap dance for me…….

I will be honest and say that I think I may be failing at this, but not on purpose.

I want my children to know that I will love them no matter what. Nothing they can ever do can take away my love, and I would never disown them. They will always be my child. There is nothing they can do to change the fact that my body carried them for 9 months, they are part me and part my husband, forever. I gave birth to them. I loved them before they were ever created in my body. I loved them and patted them in the womb. I waited for them, longed for them. I held them close to my heart as I fed them. I held them as they slept. I caressed each of their faces from the time they were born. This love is not easily taken away.

Why the tap dance reference? So many of us have learned the way to be loved is to earn that love through good works. My children don’t have to perform perfectly for me, and we do not have to perform perfectly for God either. He is not impressed with our tap dance, He is impressed with relationship with Him.

I ponder this because I know others who have great divides between them and their children. I cannot fathom that hurt and pain. If my children chose a different way to live than the way I hope they will go, I promise, I will love unconditionally.

This is how God is, and I believe He has called each of us to walk this tough road. When we call ourselves “Christians”, it means little Christs, or “Christ follower”. Christ does indeed mean “anointed one”, but what was Jesus anointed to do? Yes, to heal, but also He was anointed to display sacrificial love.

That’s my prayer…. let the love of Christ dwell richly in my heart, not just for myself, but for all those around me. May I learn how to pour out that love on my husband, children, and everyone else.

Isaiah 49: 13-16

13 Sing for joy, O heavens!
Rejoice, O earth!
Burst into song, O mountains!
For the Lord has comforted his people
and will have compassion on them in their suffering.
14 Yet Jerusalem[c] says, “The Lord has deserted us;
the Lord has forgotten us.”
15 “Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child?
Can she feel no love for the child she has borne?
But even if that were possible,
I would not forget you!
16 See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.
Always in my mind is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins.

2 thoughts on “You don’t have to tap dance for me…….

  1. This is so well put. It’s hard to be a parent. Just this morning my oldest was mouthing me telling me I never do what I say I am going to do to her brother if he doesn’t get out of bed. I guess I have made it a habit to say he won’t eat breakfast if he doesn’t get out of bed. She was upset with me because I haven’t followed through. I asked myself why it is I don’t. I think it’s mercy. I don’t want my child to go hungry. It’s my responsibility to feed him. Showing mercy is my way of feeding him spiritually. Then I couldn’t help but think of all the ways I don’t follow through on what I say will happen to my oldest. I think I have shown plenty of mercy to her as well. Yet, I wonder if perhaps I need to show tough love as well. Then perhaps there would be a little more mercy on their part.

Leave a Reply

