Helping me…

My Dh (Darling Husband) believes he is very helpful to me with the house and kids. I am a stay at home mom and he works a 40 hour a week job that supports us financially. I believe that what I do while he is gone is equal to what he does at his job. So, when he gets home, I expect (But do not receive) equality as parents. He thinks he is very helpful. Of course, I do NOT feel the same way as he. He doesn’t really get it, and as a woman who has been married nearly 13 years I understand that his brain simply does not think like mine. For instance, I decided to clean up the kitchen after dinner last night. First of all, if I ask him to clean the kitchen that is equal to unloading and loading the dishwasher only. I asked him to help me clean the kitchen. He came and unloaded the dishwasher, that’s it. I guess in his mind that was half the job since I said he believes cleaning the kitchen is unloading and loading the dishwasher. He doesn’t sweep and mop the floors. He doesn’t wipe down counters, the table, the microwave, or the stove. So, I did all that and loaded the dishwasher. Somehow in his man mind, we were equal. lol.
It’s funny to me what he thinks is helping… but alas, I digress.

One thought on “Helping me…

  1. if i’ve learned anything, it’s that open, honest communication is so important. plan a time to talk to DH about all this. not in reaction to a specific situation, so there aren’t heated emotions as you start. but it’s important for him to know how it makes you feel and to talk through some changes you both can make…

Leave a Reply

