I am a food addict

Hi, my name is Anna, and apparently I am a food addict.

I think I need food to make me happy. Lately, I am barely holding on emotionally. My husband decided almost a year ago to pursue going back into the Air Force, and I am okay with that. What I am not okay with, is him having to leave me and our 5 kids alone while he goes to training for several months. I don’t really have a choice, unless I want to tell him he can’t pursue his “dream”. Then he would resent me for the rest of his life for stopping him from his dream. So, instead I am stuffing my emotions down with food. It isn’t the worst I have ever been, but I did break down and get a cappuccino yesterday, and we had bought the kids chocolates for Valentine’s day and I find myself grazing on them all day long. šŸ˜¦ Not good.

I feel powerless against the power of food. I wish I wasn’t so alone. That’s how I feel alone and abandoned. My Dh isn’t gone yet, and we have 10 weeks until he leaves. I hope I can get a handle on this before then. šŸ˜¦

One thought on “I am a food addict

  1. Hi, I’m Amy, and I’m a food addict in recovery šŸ™‚ You aren’t alone in your journey!

    One of the things God has been impressing on my heart during my own journey to break addiction and lose some weight- is that the issue behind a food addiction is one of refuge… using food as my refuge and comforter rather than God. Personally, I had to recognize that food was an idol in my life and I had to repent. The journey is a daily one, sometimes an hourly one, sometimes it’s minute by minute… but giving this most vulnerable part of myself to God is showing me that He’s trustworthy… even in this.

Leave a Reply

