Stop saying it and just do it…..

I have a tendency to say what I want to do, and then not do it…. so I am not going to say what I want to say and just do it. 🙂

Our family is as busy as ever. Homeschooling 4 kids is quite an endeavor, not that I am complaining. I love it, actually, I love everything about it. Well, except for one thing, I need me time, and I don’t get a lot of me time.

I feel excited about what the future holds. I am loving our current curriculum. I have figured out who I am as a homeschooler and I am falling in love with that day by day. I am currently reading The Well Trained Mind- a guide to classical education at home by Susan Wise Bauer. I also bought her whole lot of curriculum and I am using it and loving it. I like it all spelled out for me, with what I should expect from my child as well, it makes life a whole lot easier when I know what they should be doing, as opposed to hoping they are responding the right way to what I am doing and not knowing for sure.

Every week has it’s ups and downs, and I am learning to flow through the rough spots until we peak again. We usually have one day a week where the kids work hard, don’t give me any trouble, and really enjoy what we are doing. The rest of the days, it’s like I am pulling teeth, and our days are long. I am committed though, and I will not back down. I will educate my children well, and that’s that!

Our daughter who is 9, was diagnosed with ADHD when she was in first grade. After trying multiple meds and seeing little success, we were referred to a developmental pediatrician who felt that maybe we missed it with the initial diagnosis. He referred us to get more testing done by some local psychologists and speech pathologists. I found an article on something called Auditory Processing Disorder, and found that it eerily sounded a lot like ADHD and had added things that indeed my daughter does. So we are also going to a audiologist to have her tested for this disorder, I hope it is so, though this disorder is not easily treated, but at least we would understand her more thoroughly.

I am off, as it is soon bedtime around here…..

Leave a Reply

