Hi, my name is Anna, and I am a homeschooling mom………

Yes, I am saying it out loud. Kind of like AA, or Overeaters anonymous, or something….

I have been reading blog after blog written by homeschooling moms. They sound like they have it all together. I am not that mom. I do not have it all together and I am going to admit that right now. I am still learning, and figuring out how to make it all work. My kids are not angels. They do not obey my every command, sit patiently and listen, and do their work without a fight. Instead, we have at least one meltdown a day, granted not always the same child. I have one child who really struggles with learning, memorizing, and comprehending what she reads. But…. I am doing the very best I know to do and trying to find out what I do not know, so that I can be THAT mom that I described earlier.

One thing I can say about myself is that I am determined, excited about possibilities, and very committed.

Am I the only one buying tons of curriculum? I just keep finding things I love more and more. Sometimes I buy stuff I think will be great and find that it doesn’t work for me at all. What to do with that stuff?

I have revamped my blog here, hoping to really be a blogger, something I have not been good at so far. I really want to take the time to put stuff here when I need to. The good, The bad, The ugly, The good, The wonderful, and the inspiring.

Time to be done blogging and time for preparing.

Anna

5 thoughts on “Hi, my name is Anna, and I am a homeschooling mom………

  1. 4 Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD:
    5 And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.
    6 And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:
    7 And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

    Deuteronomy 6:4-7

    The Greatest Commandment
    37 Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.
    38 This is the first and great commandment.
    39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.
    40 On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

    Matthew 22:37-40

  2. Have you gone to any home schooling fairs, Anna? That’s a great place to get a taste of many different curriculum companies, and buy sample packs instead of the whole thing. By the way, I think you are doing a great job 🙂 It’s a journey….not a destination. As long as you are moving forward, committed, and learning and growing….you’re doing great!

    • No, I haven’t been to any fairs, but there is one coming to Cincinnati soon. I may just go to look at curriculum and pick up some stuff. I may not go at all. I have already found most of the curriculum I want. I did buy a few things that I have not been overly thrilled with, cause they were not complete curriculums, but rather just a plan and I have to do the actual work to get it complete, I don’t have time for that! I am also having fun exploring others great ideas on their blogs!

  3. Bloggers share what they want to share. Not to took our own horn or anything but that is why Theresa, Mary and I came together to start TTM, we blog about the good, the bad, and the ugly on our own blogs. When I set out to blog about our homeschooling experience I noticed that not many people had taken older children out of school. Our experience is much different from someone who has never sent their children to school. Everyday is not perfect. But we work so hard to make this experience what we want it to be. I would not trade it for anything!

    • I have to agree, Jessica, that taking your kids out of public school and trying to school them is different then homeschooling them from the start. I think it is harder. I am guessing though since I didn’t do the opposite, I really wish I had though. I have a few friends who want to homeschool their kids who have only went through one year of preschool, and they are having a hard time convincing themselves. They think, let me do just one more year of public school. I am thinking, “Why would you want to do that?” I wish I would of stuck with my gutt and really put my heart into homeschooling a lot sooner. I have no regrets about bringing them home, just about putting them in school. I refuse though to stay there, I just keep trying to do this homeschooling thing better and more fun for the kids and me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

