Putting God first…..

Ever since I had my first child, my life has been turned upside down. What was once easy for me, became relatively hard. I have experienced really hard times in my relationship with God. I am not sure if that is normal for everyone, but for me it became my new normal. A couple years ago though, I decided that I had enough of my new “normal” and began to push into God like I hadn’t in years. I have been steadily growing in my relationship with Him once again.
Towards the end of 2011, I felt God really putting on my heart to change the order of my life. He showed me that I wasn’t truly putting Him first in all things. I was attempting to, but He wanted more. So, the last two weeks of December, I went off facebook completely. I rearranged my life some. I also began getting up earlier in the morning to put bible study and prayer first. This has been a huge struggle for me as my children still do not sleep well every single night. My three year old in particular likes to wake most nights and keep me awake. I press on.
You see, I believe when we put God first in all things, that everything will fall into place. It doesn’t mean life will be easy. No, hard times will still come, but they will be easier to get through. God will give you strength in your journey.

Listen for His gentle whispers to you. What is He asking of you today?

2 thoughts on “Putting God first…..

  1. I think it is so wonderful you are searching for a more intimate relationship with Jesus Christ. I love hearing all about your work toward the goal. It’s fabulous.

    I am working on getting up early, say 7:00. I would like to work an earlier time in there, but it’s not working yet. We are trying to get the kids out of bed by 7:30 now. This doesn’t give me much time to work on a devotion and prayer. I am determined though. Like you, I have a three year old and a one year old who doesn’t allow for me to get much sleep. My one year old is not completely sleeping through the night yet. I try so hard to get that child down and it is a hard job. I usually don’t get her to sleep until 12! I can’t let her cry because we share walls with the neighbors. I don’t think they want to hear it for an hour. I can hear their television during the night. So, I know they would hear her cry. I have even started putting her on the floor to sleep. Some nights she sleeps through, other times I have to go in and calm her back to sleep. She often times wakes around five and I lay with her until she is asleep.

    Anyway, I do wish I could do much more with my mornings. I figure baby steps are the best way with the Lord’s help. Keep it up… you can do it all with His help.

    • I totally understand, Rachel. I have had some weeks I get up as early as 5:30. I like that as far as getting all I want accomplished before the rest are awake, but it isn’t really feasible when I got 4 hours of sleep that night. I just do my best and apply my heart towards God. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

