Building the Christian Family You Never Had: A Practical Guide for Pioneer Families

God knows the end from the beginning. He knew me before He formed me into my mother’s womb. He formed and fashioned me, creating me exactly how He wanted me. He knew my future then. He saw the choices life would offer me. No part of me hidden from Him. He does not make mistakes.      (Read Psalm 139)

Dustin and I were born to parents who do not know Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior. They do not live christian lives. Yet we both as youth became Christians. We both came from divorced families. We know the pain of  divorce and the challenges of marriage. Yet, we entered into a covenant of marriage with each other. It hasn’t been without cost for either one of us. We are focused, we know that divorce is not an option for us.

I picked up a book in the last year because about 2-3 years ago I realized that we were failing at raising our kids to be christians. I am not sure how it happened, it was like we had all these kids and we were caught up in this whirlwind of caring for their constant needs, we forgot about our own spirituality and theirs. I think it is because we weren’t raised in it, so simply being a christian is daily a new thing for both of us. I am not sure anyone else could understand. It’s just easier to fall back into a carnal worldly mind set because when we were little we didn’t have parents who walked around praying, reading their bibles, going to church, and all the things that Christians do.

So I bought this book, Building the Christian Family You Never Had: A Practical Guide for Pioneer Families, and it has been such an encouragement to me in my journey. I feel like I am paving a path never paved before, and in a sense, I am at least for my family line. I know that as we walk through this uncharted  land, we are not alone, God is with us. He gives us wisdom. He  guides our steps.

Psalm 37:23
The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD, And He delights in his way.

I also know that this walk will be much easier for my kids, and easier for their kids, as we pave  the spiritual path for them. So I am determined to keep going. Pressing on towards the prize.

 

Leave a Reply

