So, you are thinking about homeschooling?

The decision to begin homeschooling is a scary thing. Our minds are so used to the idea of sending our children to a brick and mortar school, keeping them or bringing them home is quite frightening. It means that you, the parents, are completely responsible for your children’s education. My husband during our process of making the decision said that it felt a bit like we were jumping off a cliff. It was that daunting to him. Neither of us took the decision lightly. Here is a list of things I have learned in my first (almost) two years of homeschooling. I think this may be a multi-part series. There is just too much I want to say.

When you decide that yes, this is what you want to do, then I first suggest you start reading about homeschooling. Find some great books, and some great blogs that give you some ideas of what homeschooling is really like.

Here are some suggestions for books to get your started:

Beyond Survival: A Guide to Abundant Life Homeschooling by Diane Wharing

A Well Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home

Read up on Charlotte Mason style

Books by Linda Dobson (Her website is also called A Parent at the Helm)

Educating the Whole Hearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson

The first year of homeschooling your child will most likely come with some challenges. Actually, I think every year will have it’s challenges. Raising children in general has challenges, and as a parent, it’s our job to overcome those challenges and meet the specific needs of our children. Which brings me to learning about the learning styles of our children.

I admit, I still am not positive about my children’s learning styles. I have read some stuff about learning styles and think I have a good idea, but then they will do something that blows that theory out of the water. I am not even going to attempt to explain the different learning styles as I know that I am not an expert, and there are many experts out there who are there for you to go to for this. But I will make some suggestions about books. “Discover your Child’s Learning Style” is on amazon.com. It looks like it will answer any questions you have. I haven’t personally read it, but I have read some brief descriptions of them in other various books that I am unsure of the tiles of at this moment.

I suggest you start reading now and soaking up as much information as you can about homeschooling. Soon enough you should actually find yourself being encouraged, and even find the inspiration to press on into this journey.

Next installment I will talk about what homeschooling means for me….. and what it means for my children…. 🙂

3 thoughts on “So, you are thinking about homeschooling?

  1. I think when we look at our kids’ learning styles, we need to remember that very few children will fit into one learning style, I know my child does not. Like you said, I almost get it figured out and then she does something to make me rethink the whole learning style idea. We have been homeschooling for five years now and I still read everything I can get my hands on. When I first started homeschooling I read Welcome to Homeschooling Guide which was helpful for me and lead me to choose the curriculum we use. One other thing I would recommend for people thinking homeschooling is to try a couple of different curricula before sinking a whole lot of money into a complete prepackaged curriculum. Borrow from friends, or library, talk to homeschooling families. If you buy a complete curriculum and then find out that your child’s learning style doesn’t mesh with it, you could be out big money. Happy homeschooling…

Leave a Reply

