Starting a new school year….. (2013-2014)

Dear Friends,

We started school a couple weeks ago and I am so excited about the new school year. I was going to say that we are excited, but that would be lying as there are a few of my kids who just do not like “school” at all. Oh well, we charge ever onward.

This year is going to be challenging. This could be the year that the Air Force moves us, and so I felt we should start early and get going on good learning while we can.

I have big plans for this year for school. We are currently finishing Paths of Exploration. We love it. And then we will take a short break and then dive into Paths of Settlement.

For Math, we are using a combination of many things. My goal in mind is to get everyone functioning to their highest abilities no matter what that takes. So math will be a huge focus this year. Our combination is Right Start Mathematics, Math U See, and Cuisenaire Rods.

My seven year old and my 4 year old are continuing with our fabulous Five in a Row, which I love to pieces. My seven year old is also reading 2nd grade readers from Sonlight.

The 4 year old will begin learning to read this year. I bought a brand new curriculum called Foundations A by Logic of English. I am nervous about it, but I am going to give it a go. Wish me luck!

I also plan to do as many field trips and park dates as we can throughout the year. Our goal is to be super involved with our homeschool group and try to make memories. Already this year we have done 2 field trips and 1 parkdate. šŸ™‚

I am looking forward to a very successful year this year. Please pray for me and I will pray for all of my homeschool friends as well. ā¤

Leave a Reply

